Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Alex Rios

Player’s Name: Alex Rios

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: Toronto Blue Jays

Price I Paid for the Card: I got this card off of eBay for 75 cents.

Set it’s from: 2007 Bowman Sterling

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for $10.00.

Why I like this card: Alex is only 26 years old and already has two All Star appearances.  He was slowly becoming a good hitter, but really put it all together last year when he went 0.297/24/85/17.  This year many “experts” expect big things out of him.  What I don’t like is that, besides the shot of his back and butt, we don’t get to see his face.  I thought that was the whole point of cards.  Why have a card that doesn’t show you the player’s face.  Is it that horrific? The other thing I like about this card is the black Jersey swatch.  usually you get a grey or white one.  It’s nice to see a strange color every once in a while.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Well 75 cents for this card is a great price.  Not only did I end up getting a solid up and commer, but who knows?  Maybe he will take off this year and hit 30 homers. He is off to a slow start this year only going 0.306/2/14 over the first month, but his homer totals always start peaking in late May / early June so keep your eyes open for that.  I think over time if he continues to hit his stride in the bigs, his card might go up, but I think he would have to switch markets to see a dramatic rise in his card values.

Will if ever be worth more? No, I don’t think so. Other than his rookie cards, none of his recent cards have been sought after.  Maybe in the long term we might see some change but I tend to think that his current pricing might remain his only pricing.

May 1, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. No offense, but I dont think this card is even worth the .75 cents you paid for it. On top of all that, I dont even think the “relics” for Bowman Sterling are even game used, despite what the card may say.

    Comment by Gellman | May 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

