Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Cameron Maybin

Player’s Name: Cameron Mayin

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: Carolina Mudcats (Pictured with the Detroit Tigers)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $2.99 for a pack at Walmart

Set it’s from: 2008 Topps Series one

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for $8.00.

Why I like this card: At first I loved the idea of a young prospect who WAS going to start in the Marlins outfield this year. The truth is though I don’t know what to think of him. He is very young, and he’s no A-Rod or Pujols, so what should the Marlins do? I’ll tell you, let him do a year at AA and one at AAA and let him groom his hitting. Right now he can’t hit MLB pitching. He couldn’t do it in Detroit and he didn’t do it this spring with Florida. Can he do it? I don’t know. All I know is he needs time to mature and that isn’t what the parent club really wants. My bet is that he is going to grind out a 8-10 year career and be done by 30. I just don’t see him making an impact in the league.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: Prospecting can be difficult and I think that Cameron is a perfect example of why not to go crazy over uber prospects. In the end they have to be able to hit major league pitching. Something that I’m just not sure he can do. Maybe if they give him time to develop he can but I don’t think they will and I wouldn’t be surprised if they attempt to move him again in the next year or two. He is no Hanley Ramirez (even though they were hoping he would be).

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More that a Common?: Maybe? But probably not.

April 27, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

