Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Josh Beckett

Player’s Name: Josh Beckett

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Boston Red Sox (Pictured with the Florida Marlins)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2005 Fleer Skybox

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for $15.00, but as you can see I got it much cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: I know, I know it’s another Red Sox guy. You know I hate them, but at least I respect them. Actually Beckett was along the Rich Harden line of player. He was one of those hard throwing guys, you just knew would do well in the pros. Unfortunately for Josh he started out on the Marlins. At least he got to play on some good teams (pre-fire sale). I still think he throws incorrectly, because he gets too many blisters and sore shoulders, I think he uses too much arm and not enough leg in his delivery. I think some day he might go down as an elite pitcher, and if last year’s stats are any indicator I think he has a nice road ahead of him, but he’s got to become smarter at his delivery.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: OK he was average with the Marlins and it wasn’t until he got on a winning team (the Red Sox) did he do anything with his talent. I don’t think he is Hall of Fame material, he may never hit 200 wins let alone 300. But he is going to be remembered for winning a couple of World Series and beating some great Yankee teams. If you can get all that in a jersey swatch for less than a dollar, I don’t see how you can go wrong.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More that a Minor Star?: No, and since he probably won’t be a Hall of Fame pitcher, he may never even make it to semi star status.

April 24, 2008 Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , | Leave a comment