Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Pedro Martinez

Player’s Name: Pedro Martinez

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: New York Mets (Pictured with the Boston Red Sox)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2002 Fleer Platinum

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for $15.00, but as you can see I got it much cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: First off, I hate Pedro Martinez, yep I said it.  I hate him because he is a Yankee killer plain and simple.  I don’t discredit the fact that for a 14 year stretch, he was one of the most dominating pitchers in baseball.  It’s just that he played for the Red Sox and was (for a while) public enemy number one for Yankee fans.  I like the card because it is of him as a Red Sox, and I think that’s where he became Hall of Fame worthy.  You might scoff at me for even thinking that he was HOF worthy, but the numbers are simple.  He has 209 wins, a career ERA of 2.81, a career WHIP of 1.03 and 3031 strikeouts which puts him 15th all time. Now couple that with his 3 Cy Youngs, 3rd all time in win – loss percentage, 3rd all time in WHIP, 5th all time in hits/9 innings, 3rd all time in strikeouts/9 innings, . . . starting to get the picture?

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: He was arguably one of the most dominant pitchers of the 90’s and early 00’s.  He is probably a first ballot Hall of Famer and I got this card for 99 cents.  I think when we look back on this period he is going to be one of the few pitchers we remember, Shilling, Clemens, Santana and Martinez.  When we start looking back we are going to see his card prices increase and this will look like a steal.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More that a Semi Star?: No, but I do think when he gets into the Hall of Fame his card prices will go up.  Just ask Goose Gossage.

April 22, 2008 Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , | 1 Comment