Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Matt Cain

Player’s Name: Matt Cain

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: San Francisco Giants

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $1.87 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2007 Topps Series one

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for a very cheap $10.00, but as you can see I got it much cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: It’s a funny thing.  Here is a guy who has never broken the 0.500 mark pitching and everyone loves him.  From the baseball card world, to the fantasy baseball world.  The problem is his record doesn’t lie.  That’s the kind of player he is. He had a rough start to the year, but I know he’ll put together another 12-12/3.85/1.26 year, because that’s the kind of player he is.  I like the card though, because I like all the highlight cards from the Topps sets.  This year’s set I already have 5 of them and this is my 2nd from last year’s set.  I just like the card design, and I like looking at highlights from last year.  In this card it highlights his 6 game tear from August – September 2006.  I think he can do that again, but he is going to need some help.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: The problem with player prospecting is two fold. Lay down low money in hopes of a Pujols type return.  The hotter the prospect, the mosre we expect from them.  It adds pressure on a real level.  Matt Cain was certainly supposed to be something special.  I’m not saying he isn’t going to be, but to me, it looks like he has quite a hill to climb.  I could very well be wrong, but I think in the end he might win 120 games and end up with a record around 0.550, an ERA around 4.00 and a WHIP around 1.30.  Is that a bad thing?  Of course not, it means he was able to stay in the league for more than a decade.  But to us the card collector, it sucks.  That’s why I don’t prospect.  I can’t understand why some 18 year old hitting 0.350 in A+ ball is worth hundreds of dollars, when someone who is in the league hitting 0.300 isn’t even worth a 1% of that.  How can that be? Damn the rookie card!

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More that a Common?:No, I really doubt it.  I think we are looking at a career 0.500 pitcher and those cards aren’t worth much.

April 21, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used, Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

