Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – James Shields

Player’s Name: Jame Shields

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Tampa Bay D…. Rays

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.45 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2007 Fleer Ultra

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for a very cheap $8.00, but as you can see I got it much cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: By now if you read my posts, you know I have a big time man crush on Jame Shields.  Much like Mario’s crush on Andrew Miller (except Shields isn’t quite so wild).  I think if Shields was on another team, you would see him in a different light.  It’s tough to like a guy that is on such a bad team, but give them another year and they will be battling the Yankees for second place in the east.  James though, what a gamer, he really came on last season when he went 12-8/3.85/1.107.  What those numbers don’t show is how electric his stuff can be.  He is definitively one of those pitchers that I could easily line up and pay to see pitch.  I only wish I knew about him, when he was still in Durham.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: I think over time, he is going to be one hell of a pitcher.  Not a Hall of Fame pitcher, but I think he is going to win a lot of games and at some point might even be regarded as one of the premier pitchers in the AL.  My only hope for him is that at some point in his career, he has the sense to jump ship and get on a real contender and I hope it’s before he losses his desire to win (from being on the Rays).  My real hope is that the Yankees line up and offer the Rays a ton to get him, I think he is that good.  In the end though, he’ll find his way over to the Mets, after all the Rays owe them,for stealing Scott Kazmir.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More that a Common?: Right now, I’d say no, but give him a few seasons and see where he is, he might just surprise you.

April 19, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What the hell is dual materials? Looks like the same material just two pieces of it. It would have been really cool if the other piece was from a different colored (home)uniform. (Not sure if grey is the Rays road uniform or not)

    Comment by jjekiss | April 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yeah, I was thinking the same thing, maybe pants and jersey. Or bat and jersey. They really could have just taken one piece and stretched it I guess.

    Comment by chemgod | April 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

