Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Tony Gwynn

Player’s Name: Tony Gwynn

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: San Diego Padres

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $1.26 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2001 Upper Deck Legends

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for a very cheap $15.00, I am not sure why but you can find a lot of Tony Gwynn Jerseys and such very cheap on eBay.

Why I like this card: I got this card as I was going through my contemporary Hall of Fame members period. I wanted to get game used cards of all players who recently got into the Hall of Fame.  I was of the age where I got to see Tony’s entire career unfold.  I watched him as a pudgy little rookie who had wheels that you would never believe by looking at him.  Until he became a stately member of baseball who was almost considered a living legend.  I just liked seeing him play even though he was on a team I cared little about.  I think the best I ever felt for him was when he walked into Yankee Stadium late in his career for a World Series game, the first time in his long career he played in a World Series and the first time in his career he played in Yankee Stadium.  That must have felt incredible.  I think as an adult I can appreciate it more, seeing that I saw him through every stage of his career.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: It’s Tony Gwynn, the guy is a living legend in the baseball world.  I don’t quite understand why his cards (especially jersey ones) are running so cheap, but get them while you can.  He was never considered an upper echelon player and I think that is part of the reason it’s not worth as much as you would think.  He was a hits guy, with a little speed, but just a hitting machine.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More?: No, he is done with his career and has been elected to the Hall of Fame, I think his card is about as high as it is going to get.

April 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Actually the Yankee-Padres world series was the second world series Tony was in. The first being against Detriot in 84.

    Comment by jjekiss | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. That’s a nice looking card, very understated and classic looking. Gwynn was one of those guys that you knew early in his career that he was a Hall of Famer.

    Comment by JT | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow, my definition of a bad hit. I guess me and JT think differently.

    Comment by Mario A. | April 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

