Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Brandon Webb

Player’s Name: Brandon Webb

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Arizona Diamondbacks

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $1.53 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2007 Bowman Sterling

What it’s Worth: When I went to look it up, imagine how surprised I was to find out that Webb wasn’t even considered a minor star.  Beckett has it listed for $10.00 but as you can see it is quite a bit cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: It is a travesty that Webb is not even considered a minor star, I mean my god Harold Reynolds and Ozzie Guillen are minor stars.  Let’s see Webb has only won one Cy Young and three All Star appearances in six years. He is considered one of the best, if not the best pitchers in the National League and if that weren’t enough, he is 4-0/1.82/0.79 so far this year.  We are talking about one of the more dominant pitchers of this era and he isn’t even a minor star.  So sad! I am sure my buddy Jeff from Arizona is going to chime in on this one.  If he doesn’t I’d be surprised.  How is Webb considered a common?  I just don;t see how that’s possible.  In fact if you have any Webb cards, let’s work out a trade.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: To tell you the truth, I didn’t realize that it was listed as a common when I bought it.  I just liked the way the card looked and the fact that is was from the yellow alternate jersey.  Like I said before Brandon is one of the premier pitchers in baseball.  He has electric stuff and since 2005 his WHIP has never creped over 1.26 and his ERA has been below 3.60 and that is a major accomplishment considering the average of the league in this era is 4.55.  Almost a full run below the average.  It’s sad when a Bowman Sterling of Brandon Webb is considered a bad hit in that product.  Very sad indeed.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an unlisted star?: Maybe with my ranting and raving, we might see him moved to minor star status.  If he racks up some more Cy Young awards (which might be difficult with Santana around now) I would think he has a shot at the Hall of Fame, maybe then he would be bumped to semi star status?

April 17, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Minor schminor. We love Brandon Webb! (And Micah.) That’s a very nice card.

    Comment by Patricia | April 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

