Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Cole Hamels

Player’s Name: Cole Hamels

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Philadelphia Phillies

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $1.37 on eBay

Set it’s from: 2006 Upper Deck Special F/X

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed for $12.00 but as you can see it is quite a bit cheaper on eBay.

Why I like this card: I got to see Cole pitch in Lakewood, NJ at a Blue Claws game and knew that he was going to be one of those special players. I guess the same could have also been said about Gavin Floyd as well, but we can leave that for another story. Cole though just blew away hitters in the minor leagues. He was so dominant that it was obvious that he should be pitching in the majors. He was just that much better than anyone else on that field. Since I lived in Bethlehem, PA, I also got to see him in Reading and Scranton, PA as well. So when he went to the majors, I watched every game he pitched in. Well we know what he is capable with, when he has a full season 15-5/3.59/1.12, so let’s see what he can do for his career. He is still one of my favorite pitchers to watch (also James Shields). His stuff is electrifying and I think he will only get better.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: OK so I paid for more than a dollar for this one, but I needed it. This is the only Cole Hamels jersey card I have. So he isn’t a upper echelon veteran . . . he has all the talent that he could become one. He is already one of the highest ranking fantasy league guys, so I don’t think he is far off. Like many young pitchers, he just has to keep the injuries at bay (some how). Hopefully the Phillies will not ruin another young arm, but only time will tell.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an unlisted star?: We shall see. This will be a big year for him. If he can come back and kick some tail, then yes I think he could have a higher value, if he tanks, well, so will his card.

April 16, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

