Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Carlos Guillen

Player’s Name: Carlos Guillen

Player’s Position: SS

Player’s Current Team: Detroit Tigers

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $2.99 for the pack it was in, purchased at Target.

Set it’s from: 2008 Upper Deck Series 1

What it’s Worth: It is not listed in Beckett as of yet but last year’s version of the card would make me believe that it would book at about $8.

Why I like this card: I remember way back in the late 90s of a super hot prospect (just 22 years old!) who was going to make Mariner fans forget about Alex Rodriguez.  Yes, believe it or not, that is the same Carlos Guillen pictured above.  This is why I don’t put stock in hot hitting rookies. Carlos never became the next A-Rod, and it took him longer to mature than Mariners brass thought but finally at the age of 28, freshly traded to the Tigers, he made the leap.  He went from a 0.270/8/50 guy to a 0.310/20/80 guy.  Since it took him longer to reach his peak, he may have a few more years left in his peak, but overall, I think he has had his best seasons.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: Don’t get me wrong, I like finding jersey cards in my packs, but sometimes you get them and you are wondering why Upper Deck even bothered.  I think only the upper tier of players should get jersey cards.  You want to be excited when you get a jersey card.  You don’t want to sit there and scratch your head as to why you got it.  When I saw this one, I was like, ok, it’s a Carlos Guillen card, so now what do I do?  Well it just sits in my badhits pile until someone wants to trade me for him.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: Not a chance.  He is past his prime, and he can only get worse from here, which is’t wonderful to begin with.

April 15, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

