Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – John Smoltz

Player’s Name: John Smoltz

Player’s Position: P – Starter and Closer

Player’s Current Team: Atlanta Braves

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $1.25 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2005 Upper Deck Artifacts

What it’s Worth:Beckett has it listed as an unlisted semi star, it lists for $10.00. As you can see though, it can be had for less.

Why I like this card: I am not in any way, shape or form an Atlanta Braves fan.  In fact I derive no greater pleasure than to see them lose.  But I have a soft spot in my heart for John Smoltz, since I got to see him pitch as a rookie and followed his career ever since.  I don’t like the way the Braves have handled his career (Starter/Closer/Starter), since I think it stopped him from getting to 300 wins.  He missed 4 seasons (well 3.5 really) where he could have racked up some serious numbers.  He is so good, that he hasn’t had a WHIP of over 1.2 since 1995.  His ERA has not gone over 4 since 1994.  He is the model of consistency and his name is on the Cy Young ballot every year.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Now look I’m not going to have to twist arms to make you realize he is a first ballot Hall of Famer (and this is coming from a Yankee fan).  He just is, and just accept it.  Now knowing that in 2016 (his first year of eligibility, since I think he will retire at age 44) he will be enshrined in Cooperstown, don’t you think his card should be worth more than $1.25 on eBay?  Isn’t that just a slap in the face?  It’s crazy how low I got this card.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an unlisted semi star?: Sadly, I don’t think he will.  He may be remembered as one of the greatest pitchers ever to pitch the game, but his cards won’t be worth jack because he came into the league during some down years for baseball cards.

April 12, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m not sure he’s a first ballot guy, but he’ll definitely get in by his 3rd year of eligibility. Now Maddux and Glavine, definite first ballot guys.

    Comment by JT | April 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

