Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – David Wells

Player’s Name: David Wells

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: None (Pictured with the San Diego Padres)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.50 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2006 SPx Winning Materials

What it’s Worth:Beckett has it listed as an unlisted minor star, it lists for $8.00. As you can see though, it can be had for less.

Why I like this card:How can you not like David Wells? I mean even the mention of his name yields a laugh or two. The best thing about Boomer that I like was the fact that by the middle of the second inning, he’d have half his jersey unbuttoned. In fact a couple of my friends and I used to bet how many batters it would take to get the first button undone, second, ect… In fact, if you look closely at the picture, his first button is undone, so it must be pretty early in the game. I think Boomer finally retired last year at the age of 44. Known as one of the most unfit athletes of his era, he will be known for one thing. Pitching big when he needed to.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Again, to see this card of a guy of his caliber in the bargain bin, almost makes me mad. Either mad or glad. I am still not sure. Mad that I saw it for cheap but glad that I got it for cheap. After all, how many of you out there have a piece of Boomer? I just wish it was a button. What is interesting is that 4 of the 10 closest in stats is in the Hall of Fame. I don’t think Boomer will get in, but he does have a great winning percentage 0.604 and did win 239 games. So who knows, do you believe in miracles?

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an unlisted minor star?: If he gets into the Hal . . . . wow I can’t even type it, I’m laughing too hard. No it’s a bargin bin forever kind of card and that’s all right by me.

April 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t like Wells. I don’t really dislike him, but he means absolutely nothing to me. I would never purposely purchase a Wells card…jersey or not.

    Comment by JT | April 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

