Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Bo Jackson

Bad Hits › Create New Post — WordPress

Player’s Name: Bo Jackson

Player’s Position: OF/DH

Player’s Current Team: None (Pictured with the Kansas City Royals)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2004 Donruss Timelines

What it’s Worth:Beckett has it listed as an unlisted star, it lists for $8.00. As you can see though, it can be had for less.

Why I like this card: I always wanted a Bo Jackson jersey card. What makes it better is that it’s a Kansas City Royal uniform. I really loved watching him play when he was at his best and I think that was when he was with the Royals. There was a point in his baseball career, and I think it was in 1989 where he had to be one of the most dangerous hitters in baseball. In 1989 he went 0.256/32/105/26 and it was by far his best year. He was 10th in MVP voting that year and hit 2 homers in the All Star game. I smart enough to know that whether he just played baseball or not, he was never going to be a Hall of Famer. It was just so much fun to watch him play. The day he got injured and broke his hip was one of the saddest days in sports for me cause I knew he would never be the same.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Bo for a buck? How can you go wrong with that? One of my goals, while coming back into the world of collecting cards, was to try and collect jersey cards of every player listed on the unlisted stars/semi stars/minor stars list in the back of Beckett. The unlisted stars are the hardest to find cheap, just because they are the most desirable cards. The fact I snuck this one out for a dollar was great and I got to own a piece of Jackson’s history.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an unlisted star?: No, he’s not a Hall of Famer and his career is done. There isn’t anything he can do to make his cards go up. At least I don’t think there is.

April 7, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Worth anything or not…it’s a beautiful card. I love how thick those ones are. I have the Canseco version.

    Comment by Mario A. | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. The thickness is crazy on that card I had to go to a 100pt. case for it and it was still tight.

    Comment by chemgod | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ooooh…I love that card.

    Comment by JT | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. I love that card as well. I didn’t know there was game used cards for Bo. I’m going to have to start looking. I’m entirely a baseball card collector. Not interested in cards from other sports. But I do own one football card – Bo’s rookie Topps card. I’d been looking for it for years before finding it at my (sadly closed now) local card shop.

    Comment by Cliff | April 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

