Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Roy Oswalt

Player’s Name: Roy Oswalt

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Houston Astros

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2004 Leaf Certified Materials

What it’s Worth:Beckett has it listed as a semistar but the card itself is unlisted in the price guide making it worth $10.

Why I like this card: I’ve heard of pitching angry, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard of pitching sad. The look on his face is classic. Again, you would think the guys making these cards, would not try and embarrass a player. Could you imagine the locker room when one of his teamates came in and made fun of his card? I bet at that point Oswalt did actually make that face. The real reason I like this card is the swatch of jersey is actually red. You don’t see many jersey cards with colors other than gray or white, with maybe a pinstripe. But red is so strange to see on a jersey card. This is another one of the cards that was sent to Mario at Wax Heaven.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Oswalt right now is one of the best pitchers in the game. There isn’t a team in baseball where he wouldn’t be the ace (including the Mets). In 8 seasons he has rolled up 114 wins, can he reach 300? I don’t think so, but hey I didn’t think Rocket would either at one point in his career. Just think of it this way, for 99 cents I got one of the best pitchers in the game’s jersey and he was in his prime at that point. In 2004 he went 20-10/3.49/1.245, 3rd in Cy Young voting (behind Rocket and Big Unit).

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: Probably not, but who knows. At some point 300 wins won’t happen anymore and 250 might be the next level. If so, hey, maybe, I guess we’ll see in about 16 years, when he becomes eligable.

April 6, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

