Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Lance Berkman

Player’s Name: Lance Berkman

Player’s Position: 1B

Player’s Current Team: Houston Astros

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2003 Donruss Studio

What it’s Worth:Beckett has it listed as a semistar but the card itself is unlisted in the price guide making it worth $10.

Why I like this card: First off, I love the blue jersey. I mean everyone has a white or grey jersey from the Astros but how many Berkman blue jersey are out there. This card was actually sent out to Wax Heaven as part of a trade, but when I did have it, I would say it was one of my most favorite Berkman cards. He is probably one of the most underrated players in the league. Can you imagine if he was playing in Boston or New York, he would have won a MVP award by now. He is only 32 this year and he has 260 home runs. Almost as impressive is the 1300 hits he has. He could make the Hall as long as he keeps up the homer totals and gets to 500, which is quite possible.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: If he get’s in the Hall, and I don’t see why he can’t stay productive for 6 or 7 more seasons, this could be a steal of a card. If he doesn’t, well, I still got a jersey of a guy who was quite dominant in his era. Plus it’s a blue jersey of a guy that has only worn one once. It’s cool! I will actually try and get another one of these off eBay to replace the one I traded. I like oddball jersey cards. Stay tuned to see a few more that I have.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: In the immediate future, no. In a decade, we’ll have to see about that one. It is entirely possible, that a trip to Cooperstown could get him out of the common bin.

April 5, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

