Bad Hits

Cheap Autographs – Justin Ruggiano

08ruggianogumm.jpg

Player’s Name: Justin Ruggiano

Player’s Position: Outfield

Player’s Current Team: Tampa Bay Rays

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2008 Topps Moments and Milestones

What it’s Worth: It is not listed in Beckett and since the set is new, I have no idea how much it is going to be worth, but if I had to guess I would say $10.

Why I like this card: I got to see him play for the Durham Bulls last year and was extremely impressed. Sure he isn’t as good as Evan Longoria, but he has the power and speed combination of someone like Eric Bynes. A consistent 20-20 guy who will hit 0.280 with the ability to maybe go 30-30. I’ve gotten bats and baseball signed by him at minor league games, he is extremely personable and once the Rays finally give up on Baldelli (who as far as I’m concerned is an injury waiting to happen), we might see him slide up to the majors and stick. I thought he was going to make it during Spring Training this year, but it just wasn’t to be.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Although he is older than where you’d like your super prospects to be, he is still pretty young at 26 and if he gets a chance to get to the majors this year (which he should), then he’d be hitting his peak years, just as he got into the league. I think I’m more curious than anything else, I do really believe if given the chance he could be a star for them. Could you imagine with Crawford and Upton already there, just put him out in CF and you might just have to most productive outfield in baseball. Has there ver been a team that had 3 20/20 guys in the outfield? That would be outstanding for the Rays. A Ray of Hope if you will.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: Given his age and the roadblock at the parent club, I am leaning towards no, but if Baldelli gets hurt, and he get’s a chance, look out we might see him creep up a bit.

April 4, 2008 - Posted by | cheap autographs | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

