Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Tommy John

05tjohngu.jpg

Player’s Name: Tommy John

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: None, he is retired (Pictured with the California Angels)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2005 Donruss Throwback Threads

What it’s Worth: It is listed in Beckett as a minor star and set at $10. As you can see you can get it on eBay for much less.

Why I like this card: First off look at that face. It looks like he as very very chubby cheeks, kind of like he is a chipmunk. Can you imagine what he thought of when he saw the proof of this one. Holy crap! I can’t believe how freaking nutty I look, man I should have spit out those golf balls before I went in. Seriously though he may never make it in to the Hall of Fame and he really doesn’t deserve to be in the Hall, but the guy pitched for 26 years and just think 11 years into his career it was supposed to be over. Not only did he come back he continued on for another 15 seasons.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: The reason I don’t think he deserves to be in the Hall is that he pitched for 26 years and couldn’t hit 300 wins. I just think that if you pitch in 760 games, you could win less than half of them to deserve to get in the Hall. The most famous thing Tommy is famous for is obviously his surgury, so I guess if he is to get in to the Hall it’s for that surgery. But to be honest I think Dr. James Andrews deserves to be in the Hall. That’s what I really want a doctor’s coat patch from Dr James. Wouldn’t that be cool, then you could hope for the patch that actually says Dr. Andrews.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: Nah, he’s just going to have to wait it out in the Hall of Very Good. His card is going to be stuck in the commons bin forever.

April 2, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

