Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Tom Glavine

glavinerclassgu.jpg

Player’s Name: Tom Glavine

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Atlanta Braves (Pictured with the New York Mets)

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $0.99 on eBay .

Set it’s from: 2004 Upper Deck R-Class

What it’s Worth: It is listed in Beckett as a minor star and set at $10. As you can see you can get it on eBay for much less.

Why I like this card:I am racking my brain but I can’t come up with what r-class means. I think it stands for rookie class but I don’t see how Glavine fits in that one since he is as far from a rookie as I can imagine. I got this card, as Glavine is a sure fire Hall of Famer. He got to 300 wins when no one was supposed to get to 300 wins anymore. Back in the late eighties, I remember a magazine article explaining how it would be very difficult for pitchers today to win 300 games. They had predicted at the time that only Gooden and Clemens would hit the magic number. Of course this was before Gooden hit the coke hard, at least they nailed the Clemens. I’m going to guess that this is going to be his last year, as he will be 42 this year. First ballot Hall of Famer?

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: This is where I am going to rail on the industry. What is wrong with the industry when rookies are worth more than Hall of Famers? Why is a jersey of Jacoby Ellsbury or Ryan Braun worth more than one of Glavine? Don’t get me wrong I’m sure they will have good if not great careers, but I’m so tired of every rookie being tainted as the next Hall of Famer before they reach 100 major league at bats. Everyone is so worried about finding the next Albert Pujols, that no one collects Pujols anymore. For $0.99 I have a piece of a jersey worn by a Hall of Famer. Sure it’s not the next big thing in the minors, but to me and all collectors it should be worth more. It’s not and that’s sad, but hey maybe someday this craziness will change.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: Maybe once he gets in, but then again, think of all those 300 win players I’ve gotten for $0.99 and they are already in the Hall.

April 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I agree with you, but at the same time I’m glad we’re wrong. I quit collecting for the valuable stuff, and started focusing on the players I like and players of historical value. Sorry, but Joba Chamberlain is neither. He’s a middle reliever, isn’t he? How are his cards worth so much? I would take Glavine, Smoltz, or Maddux over him ANY day!

    Comment by JT | April 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am so glad to see that I am not alone on this one. Joba may become a great pitcher, but since there may be only 2 or 3 great pitchers in any one era, why would you roll so much money into a rookie? I agree with you 100%, I’ll take Glavine, Smoltz, or Maddux any day.

    Comment by chemgod | April 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. Speaking as a guy who pulled a 2007 Joba Bowman Draft Future’s Game Jersey from a pack I bought in Target, I’ll say I’m happy to have the card. It books at $25 and around when I got it, it was going on eBay for close to $20. But I’d never pay that much for it. I’d rather spend $25 on 25 cards of future or current Hall of Famers.

    Comment by Cliff | April 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

