Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Jeremy Sowers

08sowersgu.jpg

Player’s Name: Jeremy Sowers

Player’s Position: P – Starter

Player’s Current Team: Jeremy Sowers

Price I Paid for the Card: I paid $2.99 for the pack it was in, purchased at Target.

Set it’s from: 2008 Upper Deck Series 1

What it’s Worth: It is not listed in Beckett as of yet but last year’s version of the card would make me believe that it would book at about $8.

Why I like this card:I don’t know if anyone ever saw the movie Johnny B Good with Anthony Michael Hall, but during one of the scenes, the coach asks to see their game face, I think that the above picture is Jeremy’s game face. This card represents my only time in pack searching since I’ve come back to the hobby. I don’t like pack searchers, but I had to see what an average bout of pack searching would yield. I bought one pack it took me about 10 minutes to find it and this is the result. One very bad pull. I know that he is an up and comer, but if he can’t make this rotation after 2 years, I think he is doomed in his career.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: The pack searching idea was an experiment. I read a lot of stories about how every pack searcher pulls big hit after big hit. The truth is, sometimes actually if I had to guess, most times, you end up with something like this. I’m not sure what to think of Sowers. He is still pretty young (24) but last year he went 1-6 with a 6.23 ERA,if I had to take a guess, he is one of those guys that needs another pitch. He is not a strikeout guy, so he has to use his pitches wisely since he can’t just simply overpower him. It might just be a mute point though, as he is not in the majors, and may not be until someone gets injured, even then though it might be a smarter move for the Indians to bring up someone else since Jeremy hasn’t proven himself in the majors after two seasons.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a common?: I really can’t see it happening, it may not have any value in the future (other than to his family) if he doesn’t get his head in the game and start performing. All in all bad hit!

March 31, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , | Leave a comment