Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Eric Gagne

egagnegufleer.jpg

Player’s Name: Eric Gagne

Player’s Position: P – Closer

Player’s Current Team: Milwaukee Brewers (pictured with LA Dodgers)

Price I Paid for the Card: $0.50 purchased on eBay.

Set it’s from: 2003 Fleer Inscribed

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed as a minor star and listed at $10. As you can see though it can be purchased on eBay for quite a bit less.
Why I like this card: Who doesn’t like a guy who wears kookie gogles?  I just always liked Gagne as a Dodger.  Between 2002 and 2004 he was the best and most consistent closer in baseball. As far as the steroids go, I don’t know what to say.  I know he wasn’t a very good starter, but what a closer huh?  He does fit the lassic steroid burnout model of peaking for 3 years, then suffering a terrible injury and now he is working his way back from it.  This year, he’ll be in Milwaukee, away from the spot light of Texas and Boston.  Maybe he can just do his thing.  Also I like the “Today is the greatest day . . . ” pose and speech he is doing on this card.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: There was a period of time where he was it as far as closers go.  He was even better than Mariano in my mind and that’s saying a lot since I am a Yankee fan.  I wanted a jersey card of him and got it for a sick low price.  I know his name has been dragger around in the mud for a while now, but really? 50 cents? It may never be worth a lot of money, but it will be worth something to me.  I love finding these cheap cards on eBay and showing them to you.  Sometimes I wonder if there are others like me who remember fondly a guy for 2 or 3 years, even if he wasn’t good after those years.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a minor star?: Not a chance, but it doesn’t matter to me, I got this card because I was such a big fan of Gange.

March 30, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

