Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Don Sutton

dsuttongameusedss.jpg

Player’s Name: Don Sutton

Player’s Position: P

Player’s Current Team: None – retired (pictured with the Houston Astros).

Price I Paid for the Card: $0.99, it was from an eBay auction.

Set it’s from: 2005 Sweet Spot

What it’s Worth: Beckett has the card listed as a minor star and as such it’s worth $8.00.

Why I like this card: Not too many people out there can say they are Don Sutton fans, but he is in the Hall of Fame. Some time ago, I was listening to the radio and I don’t remember who said it, but the said if someone holds the record in any worth while statistical category, he should be strongly considered for the Hall of Fame. When going through his stats I noticed one crazy trend. Only 2 times in his career had he ever not won at least 10 games (1983 and 1988). He has 21 seasons where he won 10 or more games. That’s more seasons than most players play in their career. He won 324 games (14th all time) and 3754 strikeouts (7th all time). If Bill James can see putting him in the Hall, then I can too. What drew me to this card was how incredibly old Don looks in this picture. He was 36 when that picture was taken. I’m 36 right now, and although I have some gray in my hair, I’m looking nothing like that. Plus he just looks old, he looks like he could be 46. The other thing that drew me to the card is the very off white color of the jersey. Like it had been sitting in the sun for a long time. I remember those uniforms for the Astros, but I don’t remember that shade of white on that jersey.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: Unfortunately for Don, he is a Hall of Famer, just not a very popular one. It’s hard to understand how a HOFer can have jersey cards that are essentially worthless. I mean, to me it’s worth a lot because I like collecting Jerseys of HOFers, but to the average person, especially to fans who weren’t into the game in the 80’s, who the heck is Don Sutton and what has he done for baseball (besides announcing games). I don’t think this card will appreciate much in the future, but he will always remain Black and Decker to me. Besides, did you know he never missed his start in the rotation for his entire career. That in itself is quite impressive.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a Minor Star?: Nope, he is doomed to the $5 bin for jersey cards.

March 25, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. When did Sutton play with the Astros? I remember the Dodgers and Angels, but no Astros.

    Comment by JT | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. It was only for 2 years 1981 and part of 1982, he also played on Milwaukee and Oakland (head scratching on that one).

    Comment by chemgod | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. I think I remember the Brewers…but the A’s? That’s another one out of the blue.

    So in 1981 (and part of ’82) the Astros had Ryan, Sutton, and Mike Scott in their rotation. No wait, Scott was still in New York then wasn’t he? I don’t know. I’m too lazy to look it up.

    Comment by JT | March 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

