Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Paul Molitor

molitorgu.jpg

Player’s Name: Paul Molitor

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: None – Pictured with the Milwaukee Brewers

Price I Paid for the Card: $0.99 purchased on eBay.

Set it’s from: 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed as $10, but as you can see it can be purchased for much less on eBay.

Why I like this card: Lately I’ve been trying to find and buy Hall of Fame player game used cards (really jersey cards and not so much bat cards).  My criteria is that it needs to be under $2 and if possible around $1.  You would think that finding that caliber of player’s game used for such a low dollar amount would be impossible.  It’s not though and honestly it is more the norm than not.  Growing up in the 80’s I got to see Molitor in his absolute prime.  You was definitely one of the more clutch hitters in baseball history and although I was never a Brewers fan, every time I went to a Yankees game where the Brewers were the opponent, I was secretly rooting for Molitor to get a hit.  There is just something classic about his approach and swing.  Sometimes in baseball you have players that you know are classically good.  What I mean by that is that they will be remembered as one of the greats of all time, not only during their era.  I’m talking about Jeter and A-Rod from this era, possibly Pujols. I think Molitor falls into this category.  People may think that the only reason he made it into the Hall of Fame was because of his hit total (9th of all time).  In reality though, if you saw him play in his prime, you would know the real reason, it was his ability to take over games.

On a separate note, I like this card for the pinstripe on the jersey swatch and also if you look at the background of the card you can see a Brewer’s usher in his bright blue blazer, yellow tie and blue/yellow and white visor.  Could there be any mistake about where you worked if you walked around in that attire?  I wonder if they got to keep those uniforms?  If so do you think they look at it today and go, whoa . . . what were they thinking?

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: $0.99 for a swatch of a Hall of Famer! Think of it this way, the guy I bought this from, I also bought the Guidry card from.  Can you imagine shelling out $100 for a Sweet Spot tin of 5 cards and 2 of them are those Hall of Famers, and they would be considered bad hits because they could only bring in at most $1.25 each.  I know I would be elated to get two cards of that caliber player, but I’m not the norm of the industry.  Getting the card this cheap was a sin, a sin I would love to do over and over again!  Maybe someday people might wise up and realize that sometimes, getting a swatch of jersey from a Hall of Famer, no matter who he was is a good thing and should be cherished.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star?: Well, considering that he is no longer playing and that he has already gotten into the Hall of Fame, no, but I will always treasure this card.

March 22, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

