Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Ron Guidry

gatorgu.jpg

Player’s Name: Ron Guidry

Player’s Position: P

Player’s Current Team: None – Pictured with the New York Yankees

Price I Paid for the Card: $1.25 purchased on eBay.

Set it’s from: 2007 Upper Deck Sweet Spot

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed as $10, but as you can see it can be purchased for much less on eBay.

Why I like this card: When I was growing up I was a huge fan of Ron Guidry.  Every Yankee game we went to I used to bother my dad trying to figure out when he would be pitching.  Couple of funny things about the picture.  First off it looks like he had the mumps.  I know it’s probably chewing tobacco, but still I think it looks funny, and if it is chewing tobacco, you would think the card companies would be more aware of these things and not show players chewing so that they wouldn’t promote any kind of tobacco usage.  Second thing that I thought was mildly funny is the placement of the game used material over his junk, it makes you wonder if he was having an Albert Pujols moment or if it was not meant to cover anything at all? Also how sweet is the barely visible pinstripe on the left side on a Yankee uniform swatch!

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: OK Guidry may never be a Hall of Famer, but I don’t care, he was an ace of the Yankeessquad when there were none.  Not only were there none, the pitchers they had sucked! I mean look at 1985, the Yankees had a 46 year old Phil Niekro, Ed Whitson, Joe Crowley and Dennis Rassmusen.  Niekro was well past his date of freshness, and the others were parts of trades the very next year.  Gator was our only go to guy. I got this card for $1.25, think about how much a box of Sweet Spot goes for (between 70-100 dollars), for one pack of 5 cards (3 of which are memorabilia cards).  Anyway you shake it, this card costs a lot just to find and being able to nab it for $1.25 is ridiculous.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common?: Well, considering that he is no longer playing and that he will never be in the Hall of Fame, I guess the answer is  . . . . No.

March 21, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common? To you it is, and that’s all that matters. Once I get all my cards sorted, I’m going to try to complete a set of every Mario Soto card. (He pitched for the Reds in case you have no idea who I’m talking about.) He was one of my favorite players growing up; there are only 102 cards of him according to Beckett, and none of those cards are game-used or anything like that. To most people, it would be a stack of 102 worthless cards. To me, it will be worth a lot.

    Comment by JT | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. I just looked on eBay, there is one available for $2 plus $2 shipping as a Buy It Now.

    Comment by JT | March 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

