Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used: James Shields

jshieldsgu.jpg

Player’s Name: Jame Shields

Player’s Position: P

Player’s Current Team: James Shields

Price I Paid for the Card: $2.99 for the pack of cards it came in.

Set it’s from: 2008 Upper Deck Series One

What it’s Worth: Beckett hasn’t listed the set yet, last year’s set has the game used cards at $8 for common game used cards.

Why I like this card: I got to see James pitch in the minors and I immediately knew he was going to be a very good pitcher. When he got promoted to the majors, I got pretty stoked and followed his season. He had a tough first season where he went 6-8/4.84/1.44 but had 104 strikeouts in 124 innings. Things changed for him in 2007 he went 12-8/3.85/1.11 with 184 strikeouts in 224 innings pitched. I’d like to say that he is going to be a superstar but I’m a realist. He’s on a team that the best they can do is finish 3rd. I predict a similar record to last year (at least I hope). If he does real well, he gets a chance to get traded and that would mean a chance at a title. The funny part of this card is obviously the middle finger he is giving us. I mean I know he isn’t but it sure does look like it.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: I got it in a pack and was thrilled to get this one. I have such bad luck in getting hits in packs, of course not of late, but I was excited none the less.  I checked out the card on eBay and it looks like it runs about a dollar.  I have no idea how James is going to turn out.  I would say this would be a big year for him, if he can turn around and have a terrific season, give the Rays a quality number 2 guy behind Kazmir, that would be great.  He really needs to get out of Tampa though if he wants to become a recognizable nam.  Think of Beckett when he was in Florida, he was a star, but not a top shelf name in baseball.  Now though he is considered on of the best pitchers in baseball and it’s simply because he plays for one of the most recognizable teams.  That needs to happen to James in order for him to gain notoriety.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common?: It would take a lot of very good seasons to get this card worth some money. I guess my answer is maybe? I don’t know, but I definitely hope so!

March 20, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I got the same “bad hit” as my guaranteed memorabilia card in a blaster of 2008 Upper Deck.

    Comment by Steve G. | March 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

