Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used – Curt Schilling

shillinggu.jpg

Player’s Name: Curt Schilling

Player’s Position: P

Player’s Current Team: Red Sox

Price I Paid for the Card: 99 cents on eBay plus $3 shipping.

Set it’s from: 2005 Donruss Prime Patches

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed as a semi star numbered to 150, so it’s worth $8.

Why I like this card: First off is that Schilling or Clemens? I consider myself a baseball fan and I like to think I know the players, but that looks a lot like Clemens. I know it’s not, the absence of the bloody sock I guess is what threw me. I got this card, because it’s ludicrous to me as to why a Schilling game used card would go for 99 cents on eBay? As much as I can’t stand the guy, he in my mind is a future Hall of Famer. Any time I can pick up a game used card of a future HOFer for 99 cents I do it every time. Even if I hate his team and even if I hate him. What is odd about this card is that the jersey is not centered properly and you can see where it ends in the card. I’m positive that it makes his card worth less, but either way, this is still a nice card and a very nice hit I got on the cheap.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: 99 cents, think about that, a box of this goes for $160 on ebay, and you are guaranteed 8 inserts (autographs or game used), only 12 cards in a box. That works out to $13.33 a card or $20 an insert and your telling me the Schilling is only worth 99 cents? You know what I have to say? Do you have any more? That is dirt cheap for a card like that and you know it. Schilling is still a collectible player out there and maybe some day if he gets in the all it might be worth more. But let me pose this question to you, if you’re a Yankee fan and a card collector and you see one of these babies for 99 cents, do you do it? OK you may not have and I understand that. But me, yeah I’d take that hit.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common?: Tough to say, given the nature of his cards right now, and the fact that pitchers seldom gain value, I’m going to say probably not, but what happens if he wins a Cy Young Award this year, or ends up the MVP of the World Series? I think it has a better chance than Ron Gant’s card.

March 18, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Apparently the photographer got him at a moment where he didn’t have a crappy haircut…that’s a rarity. 😄

    In case you didn’t hear and aren’t being facetious, if Schilling does actually pitch in a live game this year he’ll be exceedingly lucky.

    Hey, you can justify this as a Yankee fan, too! Without Schilling, Robinson Cano would have at least three less home runs! 😉

    Comment by morineko | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. That is funny! I did forget that Schilling is going to be lost for most of the season due to surgery.

    Comment by chemgod | March 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

