Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Ron Gant

rongantbat.jpg

Player’s Name: Ron Gant

Player’s Position:OF

Player’s Current Team: None – Team on card is California Angels

Price I Paid for the Card: $5 pack of cards, each pack was guaranteed a game used card.

Set it’s from: 2001 Pacific Private Stock

What it’s Worth: It is listed as a common and worth $10, however on eBay its running about $3.

Why I like this card: You know what Ron Gant had a pretty solid career. He was no superstar, in fact he was an anti super star.  But he hit over 300 homers in his career and that is the definition of a slugger.  Also let’s talk about the picture, two things stand out about this one, first off because of the way the sleeve is dark it looks like he only has one arm. The other thing that strikes me as funny is that it looks as though he just hit a pop up and a four letter word was coming out of his mouth when the picture was taken. Now he has to decide, should he leg it out, or just jog it and go back to the dugout.  I’m guessing it’s at the end of his career, he isn’t running this one out.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: Come on it’s Ron Gant. No one is buying Ron Gant cards on purpose.  Especailly Ron Gant game used cards.  What can i say, he had no flair, I had a friend in college his name was Ed.  Ed was a huge Braves fan.  He had the new hat, he had the old school foam and mesh hat.  He dreamed of Glavine and Chipper in his sleep.  He probably had a big poster of Dale Murphy and I bet you cash right now, that he could care less about Ron Gant.  He would take a Mark Lemke or Jeff Blauser card over a Ron Gant one.  The only people collecting Ron Gant cards are his immediate family, and even that might be a stretch, his kids are probably into Pokemon.  I would give this card out as a prize except I think I’d get a return to sender on this one.  If you paid $3 for it on eBay you paid $3 too much for it. I guess that about sums up why this is a bad hit for me.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common?: Ummmm . . . I’m going to go with no, never, no way, not a chance on this one.

March 17, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I actually was a Ron Gant fan during his Atlanta days. He was a rookie the same year as Chris Sabo and Mark Grace…1988 was such a great year for rookies. I think he played for Cincinnati a year or two also, but I wasn’t really following baseball at that time.

    Comment by JT | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Man, I bought a couple of these packs when they first came out and I ended up with Todd Hundley and Armando Benitez. I would have dreamed of pulling Renteria and Gant. I don’t even want to think about what I paid for the packs either… ouch.

    Comment by dayf | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Gant is definitely the winner out of those 4. I never was a Hundley fan. He was a terrible signer through the mail, and he wasn’t even that good of a player.

    Comment by JT | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. But let me ask you is Ron Gant a sought after player? I mean would you go out of your way to get his card? Hundley had that one great season and a few good seasons, but who knows it could have been the ‘roids. Benitez never really turned the corner on becoming an elite closer. He was good but not elite.

    Comment by chemgod | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. Sought after? No. But I wouldn’t gripe about getting it in a pack. And if I saw it at a card shop fairly inexpensive and didn’t have any planned purchases, I might spring for it, just for old time’s sake. Like I said, 1988 was a great year for rookies.

    Comment by JT | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  6. I am a big Gant fan not because of his career stats or any of that but as a padres fan for life..when Ron played for us he was approachable talkative had time for fans and would sit and talk baseball all day a class act for sure

    Comment by kelly | December 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

