Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Edgar Renteria

erentariabat.jpg

Player’s Name: Edgar Renteria

Player’s Position: SS

Player’s Current Team: Detroit Tigers

Price I Paid for the Card: $5 pack of cards, each pack was guaranteed a game used card.

Set it’s from: 2001 Pacific Private Stock

What it’s Worth: It is listed as a common and worth $10, however on eBay its running about $8.

Why I like this card: I am not really sure as to whether I actually like this card.  I mean I like all game used cards, but I’ve never really been an Edgar Renteria fan.  He’s always been one of those players, who play for teams I don’t like.  Last year he played for Atlanta, this winter he signed with Detroit.  He’s always been one of those guys that hits for a nice average, about 10-15 home runs, and gets about 15 – 20 steals a season.  All in all he’s a solid player and if he is on your team you root for him, but otherwise he just is not a very popular player, probably because his stats are so average.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: When you buy packs of cards that guarantee a game used hit in every pack, you don’t dream of Edgar Renteria.  When I opened to pack and saw the card, I remember thinking to myself, oh, it’s an Edgar Renteria bat, hmm, well, I guess it’s good.  Right?  I mean it’s kind of good.  I just don’t get any feelings when I see this card.  It’s of an average player and even worse, it’s of a bat, which I despise even further, I like jersey cards better.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Common?: No, he just doesn’t have any fan appeal.  I don’t even know if he were on your favorite team whether he would have any fan appeal at all.  I really don’t think that this card price or any Edgar Renteria card will go up for any reason.  Even though he’s been in the league forever, he entered at 20 years old and he’s only 31 right now.  He has a few years left in him, but unless he has an incredible season or two I just see this card as a common.

March 16, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have the Eric Karros version of this card. I bought it on eBay for $4.99 in 2005. It books for $10. I think the design is pretty ugly, especially the border around the bat piece. I also picked up the jersey version featuring Brian Jordan. I got it for 15 cents but I don’t remember where. Probably in a pack of repackaged cards. The design is very much like the bat card but the jersey patch is round instead of oval.

    http://www.capewood.blogspot.com

    Comment by Cliff | March 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. I agree with you. I am more of a fan of the jersey cards. I have quite a few of those, my favorite being the Jeremy Bonderman diamond collection future gems upper deck fg-bo. I also have a few bat cards. I sorta get the same feeling when I stumble across the bat cards although I do have a Frank Thomas game used bat card which is pretty sweet.

    Comment by Chester | March 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

