Bad Hits

Cheap Game Used: Paul O’Neill

ponielauto.jpg

Player’s Name: Paul O’Neill

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: New York Yankees

Price I Paid for the Card: Paid $7 for a pack of SP Game Bat Edition. Each pack came with a card, this was the card I got.

Set it’s from: 2000 SP Game Bat Edition.
What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed at $5 as an unlisted star. On eBay, I saw it listed for $1.99 but only one seller.

Why I like this card: Hey what can I say, I’m a Yankee fan and there isn’t much not to like about Paul O’Neill. He is what I call a real Yankee. He is someone who takes wins and loses for his team very seriously. There were a lot of these kinds of players on the team in the late 90s. We had Tino, Chuck, Wade, Derek, Bernie, Jorge, Wetteland, Mariano, tese were real Yankees, the guys that lived and died by the team. The Yankees of today are just a bunch of mercenaries with no cohesion. When you think of O’Neill, I think of his swing and that’s why I like having a piece of his bat.

Why it’s a Cheap Hit: It’s the fact I paid about the same amount for the pack then the card was worth. For this set, every hobby pack that you bought contained a bat or jersey card. It was a very good deal at the time, because you knew you were going to get a relic card with every pack. Unfortunately what you don’t realize is that every player is represented, so even the scrubs, which I had gotten plenty of. The O’Neill hit was one of two that I liked from this set, the other was Canseco, which was traded to Mario over at Wax Heaven.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: Should it be? Yes, but the real question is Will it be? Sadly I think not. Why is his card not worth more? He was always a well liked player who wore his emotions on his sleeves.

March 12, 2008 - Posted by | Cheap Game Used | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’ll have to disagree with you on the Yankees of today (not about Paul O’Neill, you’re so right there.) Sure, you have your expensive free agents, but then there’s guys like Cabrera and Cano, and Hughes and Kennedy and Chamberlain, and Duncan on the bench…all products of the farm system. (And Jeter and Rivera, too, for the old-school section of the team. And doesn’t Wang kind of count? He was in the minors for a while.)

    Comment by morineko | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. I don’t know I just don’t get that same feeling that I got in the 125 win season. Everyone just loved to play and each game you could tell they wore their emotions on their sleeves. Joba, Hughes, Kennedy, ect. . . they may have the “it” factor, but that 1997 team was made up of vets that were quality character guys, and they showed the rookies (Jeter, Rivera, and to an extent Posada) how it was done. The Yanks only have Jeter, and possibly Damon to do that but both are past their prime and may not be what the young guys need.

    Comment by chemgod | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. I post this, and then Shelley Duncan goes and pulls…whatever the heck he pulled today. On one hand, yeah, I watch hockey so I’m used to teams having “enforcers” and all that business, but–this is baseball and it’s the Rays, for crying out loud. And he was having such a good spring too.

    I wish I had been paying attention during the 1997 season. 😦 It was my freshman year of college and I was living in Iowa with no private television, so I saw no baseball whatsoever. The girls on my floor were not fans.

    Comment by morineko | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. A lot of people saw him as a whiner and a crybaby in Cincinnati, and were glad to see him go.

    Comment by JT | March 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

