Bad Hits

Bad Autograph – Preston Wilson

pwilsonauto.jpg

Player’s Name: Preston Wilson aka Hack – O – Matic

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: Florida Marlins

Price I Paid for the Card: $1 at a card show in Freehold, NJ in 2000.

Set it’s from: 2000 Pacific Crown Royale

What it’s Worth: Beckett has it listed at $10, took me forever to find it though, why don’t they just put set in the order of Brand then set name. I did not find it on eBay.

Why I like this card: It’s hard to tell but this is actually a die cut card and just the look of it was pretty cool. He had just finished 2nd in the Rookie of the Year voting in 1999 and had a 30 home run 30 stolen base season in 2000. I thought that his talent was just at the baseline. He was only 25 so he was just about to enter his peak years. The only thing I forgot to take into account was his strikeout totals. Hence the nickname Hack – O – Matic, he had 156 Ks in 1999 and 187 in 2000, should have known anyone who strikes out every 3rd time at bat wouldn’t prove to be a valuable signature. By the way I read that he was Mookie Wilson’s nephew and step son, how does that work? As explained by Baseball-Reference:

Nephew and stepson of Mookie Wilson. (Mookie’s brother is Preston’s father. Mookie married Preston’s mother after Preston was born).

Ah ha! I just thought it was weird to see, but it does make sense. At least he isn’t his dad and brother. That would be really weird.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: First off the signature is kind of messy. I can make out the P, W, and L other than that, forget about it. Preston never really developed into the kind of hitter I expected him to become. He hasn’t retired yet, but he isn’t far away from it. The only thing that I can knock this card on is the person signing it. As I do actually like the way the card looks. It was probably the inspiration for the entire Upper Deck Sweet Spot set. For some reason though, one of my friends always remembers this card and whenever Preston Wilson’s name comes up (which isn’t often) he always reminds me of this card and how it didn’t turn out to be such a great investment. But the joke is on him since I paid $1 and it’s worth $10.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: I don’t think so, I mean he is still playing (kind of, only 64 at bats last year), but I don’t think he will be remembered as the double threat guy I thought he would become. For all you minor league prospectors, heed my warning, todays future superstars are almost always tomorrow’s washouts!

March 11, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

