Bad Hits

Bad Autographs: Todd Hundley and Tim Salmon

hundleysalmoonauto.jpg

Player’s Name: Todd Hundley and Tim Salmon
Player’s Position: Catcher and Outfield respectively

Player’s Current Team: New York Mets and California Angels respectively.

Price I Paid for the Card: $5 on eBay in 2000.

Set it’s from: 2000 Topps Stadium Club

What it’s Worth: I just purchased Beckett’s Baseball Card Plus and it is in there as a unlisted star (Salmon) and it’s worth $25. On eBay I saw it for $30 but only one person selling it.

Why I like this card: In 2000 I really wanted some autographed cards, but the prices were outrageous. Jeter and A-Rod signed cards were going for $500, so I started looking for smaller stars cards. That’s where the Hundley and Salmon Co-Signers card came in. It was sitting on eBay for $0.99 and I decided what the heck, so I put in a bid at $10 and hoped for the best. Turns out I won it for $5. Hundley at the time had just been traded to the Dodgers but his 40+ home run season was fresh on my mind and I always liked Tim Salmon, at that point I was still think in terms of investment potential. Of course as we all know that’s a dumb thing to do. The other thing I like most about this card is the incredibly smooth signature of Hundley. I have seen quite a few of his items signed and his signature doesn’t waiver. I may never be able to figure out what his name is from the signature but it’s cool to look at.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: I guess I was still naive about the whole steroid issue and saw the 41 homer season as something phenomenal. Now I’m not saying he used steroids, but if it walks like a duck . . . On the other hand I want to believe that Tim Salmon’s stats are legitimate. But when the great Roger Clemens goes in front of congress for using steroids, you start to wonder about every power hitter. Unless proven otherwise I will assume that both Hundley and Salmon were legit, but really at 1:508 odds, you would hope for more than $25, especially when some of those signature cards from that set were in the $40 range.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: Hundley’s career is over and he never did live up to that 41 homer season. As for Salmon, he retired at the end of the 2006 season. He had a real good career, but never getting to go to the All Star game has got to hurt. Worth more than $25, no way.

March 10, 2008 - Posted by | Bad Autograph | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Awesome 90’s combo right there, Hundley and Salmon.
    Keep ’em coming!

    Comment by Wax Heaven | March 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

