Bad Hits

Bad Autograph – Mike Lowell

mlowellauto.jpg

Player’s Name: Mike Lowell

Player’s Position: 3B

Player’s Current Team: Florida Marlins

Price I Paid for the Card: $1 at a card show in Freehold, NJ in 2000.

Set it’s from: 2000 Fleer Showcase

What it’s Worth: It isn’t listed in Beckett so I’m guessing it’s an unlisted star which would run $20. On eBay it runs $12.95, but it’s only one auction. I think right after the World Series it was worth more but I think $12.95 is about right.

Why I like this card: I actually met Mike back in 1995 in Mesa, Az. He was signing at a card show at an elementary school, I looked ridiculous standing with 9 and 10 year olds waiting for an autograph of a guy in rookie league. I did it though because I was a Yankee fan and he was one of their draft selections that year. Ever since then I’ve always followed his career since he was on my favorite team. The other reason I like this card is that it appears Mike is about to lose his bat. Imagine, just moments after that swing, the bat flies through the air, and wham, it hits a guy eating his Marlin dog square in the jaw. He’s laying knocked out on the ground, the dog laying by his feet, never to get eaten. The game goes on as Lowell goes 2-4 with 2 RBIs, after the game he goes to the hospital and makes sure the guy is alright. He signs some stuff and promises to get some cards out to him. About 6 months later the guy gets a package from Lowell, one of the cards is the above card, he drops to the ground, you know it’s just a natural reaction.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: How is someone who won a World Series MVP and whose rookie card is worth money, not have an autographed card worth more than $20. Of course the odds in hitting an autographed card in that pack was 1:24 so pretty low. Knowing that, I think to myself how is it worth as much as $20. Sets from now a days have autographs in the same ratio and are not even worth $10. I guess I should be thrilled that my investment went up 1300%, but not to seem greedy, I expected it to be higher I guess.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: It would take an MVP season or maybe two. I think it’s very unlikely, I’m just happy it’s worth what it’s worth!

March 9, 2008 - Posted by | Bad Autograph | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. How dare you! That is no bad hit. Also, it’s a beautiful autograph, unlike most you see these days.

    Comment by Wax Heaven | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have to agree with the previous comment. This card is beautiful. The design, the picture, and Lowell’s readable yet distinctive signature add to something that’s nice to look at.

    Comment by morineko | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. You’ll like some of the upcoming autos as I was in my Marlin phase.

    Comment by chemgod | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ok, I’m officially stumped. What constitutes a “good” hit in your opinion?

    C’mon… not every card needs to be worth $100 to be worth having.

    Comment by Paul | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. OK OK I’ll admit, it’s not a bad hit not at all, I just want people to know you canget these player’s autos on the cheap, but remember how much those packs were back then. I did this one on the cheap by buying and not having to open packs for it. But could you imagine spending a 100 bucks for a box that only has 1 or 2 autos and this was one of them. Would it be considered a bad hit then?

    Comment by chemgod | March 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

