Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Jeff Bagwell

bagwellgu07art.jpg

Player’s Name: Jeff Bagwell

Player’s Position: P

Player’s Current Team: Houston Astros

Price I Paid for the Card: $10 for the pack of cards it came in.

Set it’s from: 2007 Upper Deck Artifacts

What it’s Worth: What is odd is that even though I got this in a pack of 2007 Artifacts, it is actually from 2004 Upper Deck set. I would consider it an unlisted star common and 2004 Upper Deck Game Jersey cards run about $8.00 according to Beckett. It is listed on eBay and is going for $2.99.

Why I like this card: First off I am a big Bagwell fan. Personally, I think he deserves a chance at the Hall of Fame. He didn’t hit the 500 home runs or get the 3000 hits, but clutch time who would you want in their prime? Bagwell or Biggio? Very tough question but I think I would go with Bagwell. This is one of those pictures that mimics the 2008 Upper Deck Pujols card. DO you think he got the card in the mail and showed his wife, she looked at it and the following took place:

Wife: Jeff, what the heck is this?

Jeff: Honey it’s my new game used card by Upper Deck.

Wife: Sweety, it looks like you are going to the bathroom.

Jeff: Man you know I never noticed that. I just thought it was a good example of how focused I can be on the field.

Wife: Jeff the only thing it’s missing is the newspaper.

Jeff: So let me ask you honest opinion . . . is it bad? Don’t hold back!

Wife: Jeff you can’t let them publish this picture, it’s awful.

Jeff: But do you like it?

Wife: No! No! No!

Jeff: Hmmm . . . maybe I should tell them it’s a no go.

phone rings . . . .

Jeff (on phone): You got my jersey card on eBay? I didn’t think it was out yet. Well guess I’ll have to live with it then.

Wife: Oh no, how do I explain this to my friends?

Jeff: Ummm hide it from them.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: It’s a bad hit because it’s eight freaking dollars. I don’t understand why Beckett, has these cards as worthless essentially. I think when a card is 1:24 to pull it should be worth something. I think that any game used card should have a market. I don’t understand why someone like Jeff Bagwell, who at some point could end up in the Hall of Fame, has a game used card that is worth less than $10. It’s actually worth less than what I paid for the pack. How is that possible?

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: I would say yes, if he gets in the Hall of Fame, but let’s be realistic. He doesn’t hit the criteria, and he may end up stuck around the 50% mark in the voting. Since he is retired now, I would say that his chance of seeing an increase in this card is very minimal. Short answer . . . No.

March 8, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Nice card but I don’t think his power numbers came naturally, if you know what I mean. I always liked Bagwell, but he was always getting his damn wrist shattered!

    Comment by Wax Heaven | March 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. If he avoids implication, I think he gets in but not on the first ballot. As far as Beckett’s listings, it used to be based on market value. I know it’s not anymore, but assuming that it was, there’s just not a market for these things…you can get them anywhere. Flooding the market drives the price down. Why can’t card companies realize this?

    Comment by JT | March 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. Trust me, if you ever decide you don’t want this, let me know 🙂

    Comment by houstoncollector | March 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. If Donnie Baseball can only muster 23% of the vote, I’d be surprised to see Bagwell make the cut.

    Comment by Tony - The Football Card Blog | April 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

