Bad Hits

Bad Game Used – Manny Ramirez

manram08topps.jpg

Player’s Name: Manny Ramirez

Player’s Position: OF

Player’s Current Team: Boston Red Sox

Price I Paid for the Card: $1.99 for the pack of cards it came in.

Set it’s from: 2008 Topps Series one

What it’s Worth: I would consider it an unlisted star and last year’s Topps Highlights Relics run about $10.00 according to Beckett. It is listed on eBay and is going for $8.00 consistently.

Why I like this card: Manny has always been one of the go to guys in collecting, so when I opened a pack and found this card in there, I was blown away. The odds in hitting this card was 1:244, but oddly enough it was not serially numbered. When I see Manny doing anything I like to think of what he thinks about. So for this picture I was thinking, Manny during the at bat:

Manny (inner voice): That lunch sure was good, maybe I’ll go there tomorrow.

Manny (inner voice): I’ve really been feeling tired lately, sure hope skip sits me for a day of rest soon.

Manny (inner voice): I wonder what kind of spread they’ll have for after the game.

Manny (inner voice): My dreads are getting long, I really should get them shortened.

Manny (inner voice): That stupid kid just threw me a fastball, doesn’t he know Manny loves to hit fastballs.

I remember when I played baseball and my mind was 100% focused on the game and the situations around me. Somehow, I think if Manny were to do that, his game would get screwed up. Maybe it’s just best for Manny to be Manny.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: Thanks to a market that has been completely flooded with game used cards, this card is worth the base minimum. You could probably get it on eBay for $4 if you really set your mind and sniper account to it. I put this as a bad hit because you would think it would be worth more. You have one of the more dominant players in baseball, in the World Series and it’s his jersey. I can’t even tell you how excited I was to find this card in a pack. I thought for sure it would be worth at least $50, boy was I let down when I found out the price.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than an Unlisted Star Common?: Maybe if Manny is put into the Hall of Fame but that doesn’t necessarily mean anything for card prices now a days. I guess in short probably not.

March 5, 2008 - Posted by | bad game used | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I can’t imagine it ever being more than a $10 card. Also, it looks so damn plain. I almost bought the Topps Jumbo but the cards look so dull and plain that I didn’t bother.

    Good pull, though. Better than the other Topps crap being pulled so far.

    Comment by Wax Heaven | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Well, I’ve opened two boxes plus probably 15 or so additional packs and didn’t pull anything game-used or autographed. I see I’m not missing much, huh?

    Comment by Rich | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. You can imagine my frustration when I pulled this card at 244:1 odds and it books for $10. I think I am going to turn to ebay and look for $1 autos and game used cards.

    Comment by chemgod | March 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

