Bad Hits

Bad Autograph – Ryan Shealy

shealyauto08.jpg

Player’s Name: Ryan Shealy

Player’s Position: 1B

Player’s Current Team: Kansas City Royals

Price I Paid for the Card: $3.99 for the pack of cards it came in.

Set it’s from: 2008 Upper Deck Series one

What it’s Worth: I would consider it a common and last year’s star signings run about $8.00 according to Beckett. It is not currently listed on eBay but a Ryan Shealy Bowman’s Best autograph is going for $0.99 with no bids.

 Why I like this card: First off, how cheesy is that background.  It’s almost like Ryan went to a Sears Portrait studio and had the picture taken and sent to Upper Deck.   Can you imagine that exchange:

Ryan: I need a picture of me in my uniform in front of a crowd.

Sears Photographer: Are you sure you wouldn’t want a back drop of a beach?

Ryan: No it’s for my Upper Deck signature card.

Sears Photographer: The backdrop of a mountain near sunset is also quite popular.

Ryan: No I need it in front of a crowd.

Sears Photographer: All we have is a crowd for a rock concert will that work?

Ryan: (frustrated) is there anything you can do to make it look like a baseball stadium?

Sears Photographer: Well I can make it blurry behind you.

Ryan: Hmmm . . . you know that might just work.  Here let me get in my last year of little league pose. Make sure I cover the bottom of the bat, I don’t want another possible Billy Ripken incident.

Sears Photographer: OK Ryan I need a big smile . . . (snap) . . . perfect Ryan.

Ryan: Wow that looks great, Upper Deck is going to love it.  Can’t wait to see this on a card and start signing them.

At least that’s what I think happened to get to this picture.

Why it’s a Bad Hit: Ryan has had a rough trip to the majors.  First off he came up through the Rockies organization, so he had to eventually deal with Todd Helton.  Coming up in the Rockies farm system, Ryan had some serious power.  He pummeled pitchers in all levels of the minor leagues.  However, with no opening at first for the Rockies, they had to trade him.  So of all the teams in baseball, they trade him to the one team that has no use for a first basemen.  Except the Royals situation is even worse.  They have 3 people ahead of him on the depth chart Ross Gload, Billy Butler and Mark Teahen.  Gload is essentially a carbon copy of Shealy.  So I guess what I’m trying to say is that unless he is traded, Mark who is going to be heading back to the minors because he has one option left.  What’s sad is that I think he could be a very productive ball player.  The problem is he is going to be 29 this year and mid way through his peak years he isn’t even starting in the majors.  That’s not good and his outlook (as long as he is on the Royals) is very bleak.  In fact if I had to think of a place to trade him to the only options are the Yankees, Mariners, Rangers, and Giants.  Every other team has an established veteran or high profile prospects.

Will it Ever be Worth Anything More than a Common?: Probably not.

March 4, 2008 - Posted by | Bad Autograph | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Great first post. I hope he eventually makes his way to becoming a full-time guy!

    Comment by Wax Heaven | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have a feeling this will be a great blog. I share your curse of pulling crappy “hits” from wax. I ripped 200 to 300 packs last year and probably only pulled 10 good “hits”. My worst kick in the junk was a Bowman Sterling pack with nobody that is going anywhere. I am really looking forward to reading about all of your “Bad Hits” this year.

    Comment by Jeremiah | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. What the heck is up with that bat? Could it be any smaller???

    Sears better update their props….

    Comment by Brian | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  4. You know you’re right, I knew something was amiss with the bat, nice catch. Maybe I’m right maybe it was done at Sears or Walmart (better deal there).

    Comment by chemgod | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. Nice one. Is that a sticker auto or did Ryan sqwunch his signature over to the left on purpose?

    Comment by dayf | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  6. You know I didn’t even notice the smudges before, he must have been eating while he was signing. But seriously, that is his signature, squished to one side. It’s always been like that.

    Comment by chemgod | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  7. Loved ’em all, but I think I like the first one best, maybe because there’s a MOM in it! Sears was cool, too. What a guy, what a guy (maybe I’m just a tad prejudiced?).

    Comment by Mom Levine | March 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

